Photo by: Kai Regan 
It was announced today that André “3000” Benjamin, one-half of Grammy-winning rap duo OutKast, will release his debut solo album, New Blue Sun, on Friday, November 17th, 2023 via Epic Records. Co-produced by Benjamin and lauded multi-instrumentalist Carlos Niño, and featuring the playing of Nate Mercereau, Surya Botofasina, Deantoni Parks, Diego Gaeta, Matthewdavid, V.C.R, Diego Gaeta, Jesse Peterson, and Mia Doi Todd, New Blue Sun is an entirely instrumental album centered around woodwinds. Wind is the most essential element of his new solo album.

“I’ve been interested in winds for a long time, so it was just a natural progression for me to go into flutes,” André says. “I just like messing with instruments and I gravitated mostly toward wind.

New Blue Sun artwork

It’s therapeutic to be in that setting and playing and having to be fully in the moment,” André also adds. “Don’t think about the future, don’t think about the past. There’s something about knowing that this was created without any of the people knowing what was coming. It’s just beautiful to hear a natural happening.

Pre-save New Blue Sun here


Keep up-to-date with us on all of our channels and social media accounts:

Apple Podcasts: